Substantive Education

March 13, 2010

Oil Cleansing method

Okay, I know this is going to sound bizarre, but it has been working amazingly well.  Anyone else ever try it?

You wash your face with oil, yep, oil.  I’m using a mix of sunflower and Castor oils.  I massage the oil into my face (I do it in the shower, it’s simpler that way) and then lay a hot washcloth on my face until it cools, and repeat multiple times.  It’s cleared up blackheads, little bumps, and patches of dryness on my skin.

The idea behind this is that by using harsh chemicals, we strip our skin of the protective layer of natural oils and in response gear up our oil glands to work overtime causing outbreaks, and other issues.

This natural method restores the balance to your skin.  (And as  those of you who took  high school chemistry know, many bases, as opposed to acids, make great cleansing agents because of the interaction of the ions…oh never mind.)

Anyway, for a complete explanation you can read about it here.  If you try it let me know how it works out for you.

1 Comment »

  1. Might have to try that on my shins too!

    Comment by Ellen — March 13, 2010 @ 5:27 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

